Writing down these two lists, which Michael, my slimming world consultant has recommended previously is really eye opening. The reasons for losing weight are clearly so much more important but they aren’t as urgent as the reasons why I don’t lose weight.
How can I make the reasons for losing weight seem more urgent and the reasons for eating the wrong things less important?
Hmmm. It’s a tricky one.

I subsequently read the article I just shared and then sent this text to Michael that sums up how I feel.

A good moed! I just actually put down (on computer) my reasons for and against losing weight. I realised that it is all about important vs urgent. The urgent gets in my way of losing weight, which is important. I then read this article and really liked this line”A specific goal is different than a desire, and that’s crucial to understand. Wanting to get in shape is a desire, doing 100 pushups in a row is a specific goal. ” the ultimate desire to have lost all the weight is just so far off. It’s about setting myself lots of intermediate goals which are given urgent and importance in my every day life.
I hope you don’t mind me sharing all this rambling with you. Good moed and good Shabbos

