So, today has been really busy. As I wrote before, I got up very early. Did 30 minutes of Pilates and then had breakfast. A rather unphotogenic bowl if porridge with banana which I don’t need to inflict upon you.

This afternoon I had my older son’s birthday party, so needed to ice his cake. I managed this with minimum tasting of the icing. Very delicious and fudgy. Since my mixer is currently broken, fudgy icings are ruling.

Isn’t it pretty?

I had a banana and a Sharon fruit to fortify myself before fetching four nine year old boys from school for the party. Also I needed to get some last minute supplies which meant walking for maybe 5-10 minutes so fast that my legs were burning and begging me to stop.

The menu for lunch was a very child friendly pasta and cheese which I added some sweetcorn to.

Then while his party was continuing my younger son was invited to an upsherin (3 rd birthday party where boys have their first haircut). A magnificent spread greeted us.

From that photo it all looks exceptionally healthy! There were actually loads of biscuits and cakes, crisps and all manner of noshy things. What was such a brocha was that the fruit was all things I could eat. (I am allergic to most common fruits). So I had a few carrot sticks and some very sweet and delicious grapes and pineapple.

On returning home I had decided that I would have a piece of R’s birthday cake. I knew that if I didn’t have a piece I wound feel denied and therefore splurge. It was very rich and really I could have left some of the piece I cut for myself. The texture was great though. A really good recipe. I’m glad I had a piece, but I really took the time to enjoy it, and then also to focus on the nauseous feeling afterwards.

H fed me a couple of pieces of popcorn and when I passed the birthday cake I cut myself off the tiniest extra piece, just because it is a bad habit, I really didn’t need it. Darling Husband has put the rest of the cake in the freezer so out of sight, out of mind.

He also cooked these vegetarian tival kebab things, which are actually really tasty, with a squirt of ketchup.

I’d still like to have something more meal-like for supper….. Aha. There’s a pot of leftover stir fry. Perfect!

I actually couldn’t finish this and left about a third of it. What is happening to me? I used to be able to eat so much and now I feel sick after one piece of chocolate cake and cannot finish a full plate of stir fry! Very very weird.

