One thing I have definitely changed the longer I am a mother and the longer I have been trying to change my lifestyle is to become “selfishly healthy” or “healthily selfish”. To take care of myself when there are other things fighting for my attention. It means doing what I want to do, instead of what other people (especially my children) might want to do. Case in point, when children are dragging their feet to come down to eat their own breakfast, I will make sure I eat breakfast rather than spend that time nagging them or doing things for them that they are perfectly capable of doing themselves. If they (or one child in particular) takes so long getting ready that they don’t have breakfast then they just don’t have breakfast.  Perhaps this will motivate them to get ready earlier another day. Maybe it won’t. But at least I’ll eat a decent breakfast and be able to deal with the day better as a result.

(My breakfast – porridge and almond milk)

Morning snack – a banana

Lunch – I have one child who would happily eat eggs for every single meal. And one who would happily eat pasta for every single meal. I am not willing to tie myself in knots every meal. They had eggs and toast for lunch. In the past I might have also had eggs and toast, just to make it simple. But I’m prioritising myself, so I took the eggs, 3 leftover new potatoes from last night, mushrooms and salad leaves, and had a massive delicious salad. A little sprinkling of garlic powder and salt drew complaints about the smell from those who are a little sensitive to smell, but made it all taste delicious.

In the afternoon I saw my Lovely Sister and Niece. We all had a little more of the baked goods my children made yesterday at my Wonderful Parents (my Mum says these descriptions make me sound like Bridget Jones! Mummy, they are just an attempt at preserving your anonymity should you wish it preserved. Oh, and are true descriptions 🙂 ). We walked to the park near her house which wasn’t very far (<10 mins each way maybe? and was at children’s pace, but it was a little bit of activity.

Afternoon snack – a ryvita, another little piece of biscuit

Supper – salmon, salad leaves, spinach spaghetti. There was twice as much salmon that I could have eaten but knew it would have been too much. 🙂 

Last night after I posted my food diary I did some exercises. I basically took a few of the moves that I like doing in my Zumba and Pilates classes and just repeated them each 15 times, so I did some squats (I don’t really know how to describe them, one where your knees bend out and one where you sort of sit back as though there is a chair – anyone who wants to tell me what they are really called?!) and a hand plank, and a kick boxing move, and one where you go into a Pilates box position and then extend one leg and arm and then put them back. I’m actually chuckling at my ridiculous descriptions of what I did!  I’m so not a pro at this!! The point is that I did it. It took about 10-15 minutes to do, got my heart beat up a bit and hopefully strengthened some muscles.  I plan to try and do something similar this evening also hopefully.

Thanks for all your comments. I really appreciate them.

