Day 95 – Sunday Erev Rosh Hashanah, 96-97 Rosh Hashanah, 98 – today, Tzom Gedalia

I’m not able to give a blow by blow (no shofar pun intended!) account of my food for the last three days (erev Rosh Hashanah and two days of Rosh Hashanah itself).

If you can decipher my writing this was my menu plan in general. I didn’t go mad, but I did have Challa and honey and honey cake. The meals were all pretty healthy actually, vegetables at every meal.

Today was a fast day, Tzom Gedalia, which although of course for somber and serious reasons, from a thoroughly superficial getting over the excess of the holiday, can only have done me good.  It is a short fast, only from sunrise to nightfall, which was from just before 6am until just after 7pm.  I got up very early to have breakfast (porridge and full fat milk, I think I need to buy almond milk in larger quantities now).

I just broke my fast on this delicious combination of leftovers. Salad greens, chicken, sweet potato and a little beetroot. Followed by a banana and I am not hungry any more!

I noticed over yom tov that I was definitely eating less than I used to, but I did over indulge and felt really bloated after a couple of meals.  I’ve not felt that way in a long time and it was really unpleasant. I need to learn to listen to myself when I’ve had enough.

Another thing to note was that I wore clothes that I haven’t worn in a long time because they didn’t fit.  To be honest, I’m not sure that they were all that flattering but I wore them anyway. I would have liked to have got something new to wear for yom tov, but I really don’t want to buy any more clothes in this size.

This has been my line for so long. I’m not going to buy new clothes because I’m going to lose weight. And then I don’t lose weight and I have the same old clothes I’ve had for ages.  This time is different though. I really really hope that by next yom tov, and by this I don’t mean Sukkos, which is in just over a week, I mean Pesach, in 6 months, I will finally be able to buy some really nice new yom tov clothes in a smaller size. I feel like this time truly is different from my other attempts at losing weight. 

Tomorrow Pilates is back on! Can’t wait! I wonder how out of shape I am from not having been to class since before the summer holidays. Time will tell!

Simcha

