Making cakes with courgette and sweetener in the past has been a clear sign of me trying to lose weight.  I’ve attempted to have my cake and eat it (a strange phrase I’ve always thought, what’s the point in having a cake if you can’t eat it?) However, this time, it’s about portion control. Not kidding myself that because I didn’t use sugar and it has courgette in it, it is therefore an excuse to eat to my heart’s content.  However, no-one else needs to know that the cake has courgette in it.  Especially not the children.

I adapted this recipe to make this today.  It is a good case of, if it isn’t in the house then I can’t eat it. I don’t have any caster sugar in the house, so I had to use sweetener instead.  I present… The Don’t Tell The Children Chocolate Courgette Cake!

Ingredients:

  • 110g margarine
  • 120g oil
  • 38g canderel (I had meant to put in 35g but it came out too fast)
  • 2 eggs
  • 125ml measuring cup, a splash of cider vinegar, then filled with almond milk and left for a little bit too sour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 250g self raising flour
  • 4 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 smallish courgettes (the packaging claimed 350g)
  • 4 tablespoons ground walnuts
  • 4 tablespoons plain chocolate chips


Method.

  1. Cream the  marg, oil and sweetener
  2. Add the eggs, milk and vinegar and mix until really well mixed together
  3. Add flour and cocoa and mix some more
  4. If you know that bits of green will bother those who are eating it, peel the courgettes (I did), then grate really finely and mix in.
  5. Put the mixture into a large roaster (it’s actually a massive recipe, it could be halved, or split into two containers if you wanted).
  6. Sprinkle the ground walnuts and chocolate chips over the top.
  7. Cook in the oven at about 180°C for 30 minutes or so, until it is done.

A note for Americans. Courgette is the English for Zucchini. (I’m bilingual, dontcha know?)


