http://www.webmd.com/parenting/fun-and-fit-family-11/calorie-burners

  • Raking and bagging leaves: 350-450 calories per hour
  • Gardening: pulling weeds, planting flowers, etc.: 200-400 calories per hour
  • Mowing the lawn: 250-350 calories per hour

“Raking and bagging leaves is particularly good because you also do a lot of bending, twisting, lifting, and carrying — all things that can build strength and engage a lot of muscle fibers,” 

Some lessons to learn from raking the leaves, that can be applied to weight loss, and life in general:

  • Deal with the problem now. If you leave (hoho) the problem, it will get worse and even more difficult to tackle later.
  • You will have to work hard.
  • Results will not be obvious straight away but then you’ll start to see subtle differences, and then drastic differences.
  • Even when you think you’d finished, there’s always more to do, and there could be unexpected events (think, wind blowing your pile around).
  • You need the right tools for the job. In previous years I had struggled with a wire rake. Then one day I saw some professional gardeners using a plastic rake. It is like day and night, like raking through treacle compared to sweeping an ice rink. Perhaps that’s a little exaggerated….
  • You need the right environment. Raking mostly dry leaves (like today) is doable. When they are wet and sodden, it is horrible work.
  • Break the task into manageable parts, don’t try and take everything at once.
  • Do what you enjoy doing. While I was doing the garden, my cleaner was mopping the floor and ironing. I’d much rather do the gardening and pay someone to clean my house than pay a gardener and clean my house myself.
  • During the process, you’ll see glimpses of future success (daffodils starting to poke through the soil!)
  • It’s worth the effort for the end result.

As you can tell, I had enough time to get rather philosophical!.
I love gardening analogies.  I think there are just so many life lessons you can get from gardening. I could just go on and on. But I won’t! Don’t worry!

