When we were first married, the oven in our flat had two settings: off and 10000°C.  A wedding gift of an expensive Le Crueset dish became competently charred when I attempted to make cholent in it one week.  In my loft decluttering I came across the charred dish, and using a newly discovered noxious-gets-everything-off-cleaning-product, steel wool and elbow grease I managed to get the last burnt bits off.

I fancied lamb this week but the price put me off! So I settled for some nice juicy looking chuck (braising) steaks. I thought it would be a good sort of thing to try out the Le Crueset for. Having googled a bit and then taken inspiration, I present…

Chuck Beef Steaks with mushrooms


Ingredients

3 onions

3 garlic cloves

1.5kg chuck steaks (3 packs)

350g closed cup mushrooms

1 beef stock cube

Marjoram

Paprika
Spray oil

Method

  1. Peel, and chop up onion and garlic.
  2. Spray the dish with oil (or do this in a frying pan and then use a regular pan either with a lid or covered with foil, or slow cooker for the second part).
  3. On the hob, fry up the onions and garlic until softened.
  4. Add the meat and stir it all around.
  5. Sprinkle some marjoram and paprika.
  6. Leave that all on a low-ish flame, 
  7. Put on the kettle and then dissolve the stock cube in a mug. Then add it to the pot.
  8.  Chop up the mushrooms, add them to the pot.
  9. Give everything a good stir. Put the lid on and put in a low oven (160°C) for 2 hours or so until the meat is soft and falling apart.

It’s a shame you can’t add smells to websites! Because my kitchen smells amazing right now!!

If split between 4, 614kcal. Between 6, 409kcal.

