I don’t usually listen to LBC Radio but put it on in the car on the way to collect the children today. What hashgacha (providence) as they were talking about obesity and healthy living.  The question they were discussing was how to deal with the national obesity problem and the strain on the NHS. I will see if I can find a listen again link to it.

A caller who said she was doing an MA in Obesity and Diet quoted the following statistics which shocked me.

1 in 10 children going into reception are obese. 1 in 5 by year 6.

Once an obese adult, the chance of listing the weight in a year, 1 in 210 for men, 1 in 125 for women.

Her message was obviously one of prevention is better than cure.

My internal response?

I’m going to be that one who does succeed. 

I have such a responsibility as a mother as to the long term health of my children.

BH none of my children are overweight, but it is something that really worries me. I don’t want my children to have to go through what I’ve gone through with my weight, physically, socially or emotionally. I am trying to give them not just healthy food and be active but to try and instill in them healthy attitudes.

Breakfast – Porridge with almond milk and cinnamon

Second breakfast after school run (was very hungry for some reason) – Porridge with almond milk and cinnamon, vanilla yogurt, prunes

1 hour Pilates

Lunch – 2 bowls vegetable soup with pasta

Snacks – carrots

Lovely husband had a meeting which meant he was going to be very late home this evening. So when the children had their supper, I also had pizza with them. Then a strawberry yogurt. Because M has now decided she doesn’t like pizza and R wasn’t very hungry, I probably are nearly half a 30cm pizza. It was yum. Because I knew I needed to handle bedtime myself and didn’t know how it would go (it was fine actually), I didn’t know when I’d get to eat. Hence the pizza.

Total food 1952kcal, exercise 217kcal

